WHEN AND HOW ARE ACCOUNTS EXPIRED? user (both prevalidated and validated) accounts are the only login accounts subject to automated purges. These purges occur monthly and are based on your last UNIX login time if you are validated, or the number of days since your account was created if you are prevalidated. Prevalidated accounts are automatically purged whether they are in use or not approximately 600 days of their creation. Validated accounts will expire if the user does not login at least once during a 2 year period. ARPA members are exempt from inactivity purges, though an ARPA member may lose their membership by violating the AUP. When disk space becomes an issue, ARPA members who have not logged in for 1 year or longer may have their files compressed. No files will be deleted and the user is welcome to login an uncompress files as needed. Keep in mind that using SDF for only webmail or pop3/imap service does not log you in to the UNIX system. You will have to login to the shell account regularly to avoid being flagged as an inactive account.